How to Dye Barbie Doll Hair

Hello all my wonderful doll lovers! I’ve been scanning through Pinterest recently and I have been OBSESSED with the beautiful ombre hair and dip dyes people have been doing. They are just soooooooo pretty! This is one of my favorites:

7e33cdf5e006dbb0dada89ceab29bafd

I really wish I could do this to my hair, but sadly I’m a brunette and my parents wont let me šŸ˜¦ But you know who is a blonde and parents will let her dye her hair? BARBIE!!!!! So today I’ve been trying different methods to dye Barbie’s hair and I found a method that kinda worked. When I mean kinda I mean that it doesn’t stand out as much as the picture above. Well without furtherĀ ado lets get started!

IMG_0006This isĀ the Barbie I will be using today….

IMG_0007Her hair before.

IMG_0009

First we need to prepare your Barbie. If she has her clothes on undress her from her clothes to prevent staining them.

IMG_0011

Also brush your dolls hair thoroughly and make sure there are no tangles.

Now its time to prepare the dye!Ā This dye will stain clothing so make sure you are wearing old clothes and for younger kids have your parents permission and parental super vision before preparing the dye, it requires using the stove.

IMG_0014

Start by boiling some water in a pan, kettle or whatever can heat up water. There isn’t any exact measurements for this step but make sure you have enough (you don’t want to have to boil more water if you don’t have enough).

IMG_0021Once the water has boiled pour it intoĀ aĀ disposableĀ cup or an old plastic cup you don’t mind ruining.

IMG_0022Next, pick out the color of food coloring youĀ want to make your dolls hair. I pickedĀ blue šŸ™‚

IMG_0027

Add as many drops as you’d like until you get your desired color. If you are using a black cup like mine, you might need to take a spoon to see what color the water is. Once you put in the drops, stir it together.

IMG_0028

Now for the fun part! Dying the hair! Put your dolls hair into the cup and let it sit for about 30 seconds to a minute. If you are dying all the hair, do not put the full head in the water, it will stain the plastic.

IMG_0030

After it sits in the solution take your doll out and lay in on some napkins to dry. Let it dry for 2-3 hours or until completely dry.

IMG_0031

And your done!
IMG_0032

IMG_0033

IMG_0034

IMG_0035

IMG_0037

It is very light and I wouldn’t recommend doing the whole hair, maybe just small highlights or ombre like this. I also DO NOT recommend doing this on AG dolls or any other 18 inch dolls.

I hope you all enjoyed this tutorial šŸ™‚

Cheers!

Signiture

Preform at your own risk

Leave a Reply

